2015-2016 Board of Directors


President: Mike Scudder
Vice President: Joan MacLatchy
Secretary: Sheryl McKamey
Treasurer: Ann Senae

Director: Polly Betterton
Director: Kayla Johannessen
Director: Jill Holgate


Archivist: Val Billesberger, MAS
Acting Museum Manager: Meghan Dahl
Heritage Places Coordinator: Dawn Smaill
Administrative Assistant: Cathy Crawford

1972: On March 22, the Mission District Historical Society was incorporated under the Societies Act of BC and elected Ethel Ogle as President, Dorothy Crosby as Secretary, Carmella Clark as Treasurer and George Jones, Amos Gibbard, Betty Weir, Guy Symonds and Marion Sharpe as Directors.

1974: Dorothy Crosby was appointed the Museumís first curator. Through her keen interest and tireless efforts, she developed the Archives as an auxiliary operation of the Museum. As a result, in 1976 the building became known within and outside the community as Mission Museum and Archives.

1983: Trustee Carol Law introduced the idea to allow space in a future library building to store the archives. This dream became a reality less than a decade later.

1989: With the introduction of knowledge on standards for handling archives in the mid-1980s the Board established an Archives Advisory Committee to develop guidelines for the physical care and management of archival materials. On February 25th, 1989 Mayor Sophie Weremchuk cut the ribbon to officially open the Mission Community Archives marking its transition to a distinct branch of the Society.

1994: Construction on a custom-designed 3,000 square foot facility to house the Mission Community Archives was completed with the official opening on October 7th. The first of its kind in the entire Fraser Valley, the new state of the art facility established optimal space to preserve and make accessible the documentary heritage of the community.

That same year, the Society established a third department, Heritage Buildings Branch, which would be responsible for the preservation and protection of heritage buildings, sights, and features in the community. This department is now known as the Heritage Places Branch.

Box 3522, Mission, B.C. V2V 4L1   Ph. 604.820.2621
Comments or Questions?